Shadow of the Vampire (2000)

I really don’t know what to make of Willem Dafoe’s performance. Half the time he’s brilliant with all the weird little mannerism that really gave him this eerie and odd aura, and then there are scenes where I just wonder what the hell is he trying to do. And good grief, it never stops being weird for me to see Eddie Izzard without a beard, I knew he was in the film because it had me go “oooooohhhh goodie” when his name came up in the tediously long opening credits sequence, but then I completely forgot about it and only now realized it again when looking at the casting info. As for the movie itself, I once again fell to the trap of having certain expectations of what the plot would be and then getting a slightly disappointed because the film ended up having a less interesting plot than what I had concocted.

Leave a Reply

