Wreck-It Ralph (2012)

Wreck-It Ralph was one of the rare instances where in many years I’ve actually found myself interested in seeing a new Disney movie. And of course when I finally see it, I didn’t really enjoy it that much. Oh well. It tells an entire okay story, but around halfway through, when we got stuck on the candy racing game, it started to become clear it wasn’t going to be my cup of tea. I rather liked the world they had created around the movie, and would have liked to see that explored more.

Some things baffled me a little in terms of internal logic. I kept wondering why the bugs were considered to be viruses instead of just being ordinary people doing their job like everything else in the game world seemed to operate. I mean, if the ghosts in Pacman had personalities, why not the bugs? Why couldn’t they just reboot like the soldier characters did? On a positive note, I quite liked the animation, and that’s rare as I usually detest CGI animated movies.

Leave a Reply

