The House of Yes (1997)

Rarely do I find myself loving a movie so quickly, and effortlessly, as was the case here. I don’t think it was even ten minutes in when I was already entirely sold on the movie, and laughing my ass off. I admit to having some reservations due to the cover art, but it is nice to see that I am capable of winning my own bias and enjoy something on its own merits. Young Parker Posey is gorgeous as Jackie-O, simply a delight to watch. She effortlessly pulls off the classic Jackie Kennedy look and manages to perform lightning fast mood swings from being catty to charmingly psychotic to almost losing her mind again very convincingly, without missing a beat. Geneviève Bujold who played the matriarch of the family was a complete new acquittance to me, but her performance was so good that I simply have to look up what else she has done.  To my surprise, even Freddie and Tori Spelling weren’t that bad, they fit their respective characters astonishingly well and their scenes never put me out of the movie like I had feared they might, instead their dynamic had a certain charm to them. The hook of the movie naturally was the twisted, incestuous relationship of the twins that was both fascinating and morbid to watch.

Leave a Reply

