Interiors (1978)

Interiors is an interesting movie on a couple of levels. At first I didn’t really know if I had anything to say about the movie. All I had written down was that Sam Waterston is so damn young in this. But them, the more I got into thinking about it and began typing, the more depth and things I wanted to say about the movie I started to find.

First of all, it is by all accounts a very serious and heavy drama film. In fact, it was the first purely dramatic film in Allen’s career at that point, posing quite a shift for him artistically. I might be wrong here, but I don’t think we really see such a serious side of Allen again until Match Point. Another thing that struck me about it is how in retrospect, the movie manages to do this very intricate balancing act  where it’s able to play with several very bleak subjects, such as the driving theme of the film depicting deep mental dependency on others, struggling with your lack identity and self image when you are unable to find an outlet to express yourself, the attempted of rape in the garage and of course for the grand finale, the climactic suicide. All heavy subjects on their own, but the movie somehow never feels very depressing, or even that dark. Just very serious.  It’s quite an accomplishment for Allen to able to pull this all off on his very first try.

I wouldn’t necessarily place this on my top five, or even top ten list of Woody Allen movie, I don’t feel it has that special umpf that makes a movie be so iconic and magical to warrant it to place so high, but I do like it a lot. It really spoke to me, even if it didn’t particularly move me. And that’s a very rare thing, to be touched by a story. I like how it’s not trying to be a spectacle, instead it provides you a very small, but realistic portrait of an family and then examines what problems each family member is suffering privately. Now that I think about it, I feel this might actually improve considerably with multiple viewings. Perhaps even with time become a true personal favorite. I don’t know. For a movie that didn’t feel like much, it really seems to have had a lasting impact on me the more I put thought to it. Funny, that.

Leave a Reply

