A Single Man (2009)

For the longest time I kept mixing up A Serious Man, A Single Man and Solitary Man. I was unable to keep it straight which movie was which and who starred in what. It was only now, after looking up info on A Single Man that I realized where the confusion must have stemmed from: they all came out in the same year, within a couple of months apart from each other. I also only went to see one of them, A Serious Man, in theaters so I must have subconsciously began to associate everything on that one movie and often get progressively confused when it turned out I was thinking of an entirely different one than what the topic was about. I’m usually terrible with names at the best of time, so it’s no wonder it has taken me this long, until I had seen all three of them, to finally be able to differentiate them one another inside my head. 

Initially, I had some trouble getting into the story because I kept getting flashbacks to The King’s Speech thanks to Firth’s unique and distinct voice, but thankfully Firth’s irrevocable charm eventually calmed those waves down and I could properly emerge myself. As for the movie itself, it is really enchanting. I had a vague sense this was going to be something about relationships, and naturally the cover art made me then assume that this was going to be about Julianne Moore and Colin Firth being in some kind of an on/off open relationship, which funnily enough it kinda is to certain degree, briefly, but no,  instead it’s an (ultimately) ironic story about a suicidal gay man who is unable to let go and move past his dead lover. It’s very melancholic, stylish, heartful and moody and I loved every second of it. It is very rare to see something this moving and captivating, it could almost say it was a privilege.

It makes perfect sense in hindsight that Tom Ford has a background in fashion design, working for such big names as Gucci and  Yves Saint Laurent, because the movie has simply spectacular period aesthetics that perfectly compliment the already very endearing cinematography. It’s simply an incredibly debut for a filmmaker, and I find myself already impatiently waiting to see something new from him, whenever (if ever) that might be. 

Leave a Reply

